National Partnership for Women & Families

Paid Sick Days

Connecticut
State: Connecticut
Subject: Job-Protected Leave, Paid Sick Days, Domestic Violence and the Workplace
Statute/Code Cite: Conn. Gen. Stat. ยงยง 31-57r et seq.
Summary:

Connecticut has passed the nation's first statewide paid sick leave law. The law applies to workers in 68 service occupations who work for businesses with 50 or more employees. It allows these workers to earn one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked, up to 40 hours annually (approximately five days for a full-time worker). The paid leave taken under the law may be used for the worker's own health needs or a family member's health needs.

"Family member" includes the worker's child or spouse, including a same-sex spouse under state law. Leave may also be used for needs related to domestic violence or sexual assault. The law took effect in January 2012.